S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Does anyone know what this can be?

Old 10-01-2017, 12:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Does anyone know what this can be?

Hello everyone,
Just a heads up I am new to the world of posting to forums so I apologize in advance if my post is posted in the wrong section, not in the correct format, etc.

Overview
I have a daily driven 2001 S2000 with 104,000 miles on it that I purchased with 97,000 miles.

The Problem
The other day I drove my car perfectly fine to a destination approximately 30 minutes from my house. When I took off again to head back home I was able to drive for about a mile normally when I noticed that it was really hard to put the car into gear. I had to be in the perfect RPM for it to slip in. It was almost as if my synchros magically disappeared. Since I was so far from home and I didn't want to risk having to pay for a tow, I decided to throw it into 6th and cruise home on the highway. While cruising, I would put the clutch in to test, the revs would die normally, let the clutch out, it would grab normally. I would floor it in 6th going around 60-65mph, and the clutch would not slip; it would act as it is supposed to.
Now, here is the part that I found a bit puzzling: after getting off on my exit I pulled over and went to check my clutch fluid and to see if I saw any leaks under the car (everything fine). After I turn the car back and continue driving, I am once again able to shift normally for about a mile before the problem once again comes up when I try to shift. While stationary, I am able to throw the shift knob into any gear without hesitation, the problems comes once the revs begin to rise.

My Ideas
My first idea was that it had something to do with the transmission fluid -> but when I got the car I did an engine and transmission oil change (Honda transmission oil).